Joakim Thåström
Bookmark and Share


20 March 1957

Sven Joachim Eriksson Thåström grew up in Högdalen and Rågsved, working class suburbs south of Stockholm, where he from 1977 to 1982 was the singer of punk band Ebba Grön. When Ebba Grön went in hiatus in 1981 due to bassist Lennart "Fjodor" Eriksson having to serve time in jail for refusing military service, the three remaining members (Thåström, drummer Gunnar "Gurra" Ljungstedt and keyboardist Anders "Stry Terrarie" Sjöblom) formed side-project Rymdimperiet (Galactic Empire). When Ebba Grön officially disbanded in 1983, Rymdimperiet was renamed Imperiet (The Empire). With a then-modern sound firmly set in the 80s and a more focused leftist political stance combined with easily accessible songs, Imperiet became one of the biggest Swedish bands of the 1980s. In an attempt to cross over to international audiences, Imperiet also recorded an album with some of their songs translated to English.

In 1989 Thåström started a solo career as a rock singer-songwriter with progg influences. He began his solo career with the release of two solo albums, the selftitled 'Thåström' in 1989 and then "Xplodera mig 2000" (Xplode Me 2000) in 1991. The later was extremely computer-based and led to the development of the band Peace Love & Pitbulls. In 1992, he started the heavy industrial rock band Peace Love & Pitbulls, with lyrics in English. The band existed until 1997 and released three studio albums.

The Swedish audience longed for a new rock album so when Thåström in 1999 released the album Det är ni som e dom konstiga, det är jag som e normal (You're the Strange Ones, I am the One Who's Normal) it became a very big success. Once again with Swedish lyrics and less computerized music Thåström had gone back to his original rock'n'roll-roots. In 2002 Thåström released the album "Mannen som blev en gris" (The Man Who Became a Pig) which was a dark and 'filthy' album with a lot of dusty sounds. In late 2005 Thåström released the album "Skebokvarnsv. 209" (Skebokvarn Street 209). The title refers to Thåström's childhood home address. The album is the most biographical album Thåström has ever released. It contains several songs with extremely personal lyrics and the music is mostly based on acoustic guitars.

In 2007, Thåström presented a new band called Sällskapet. The band had been kept a secret since 2003 and was revealed together with their selftitled debut album. Sällskapet is commonly seen upon as a one time thing and in 2008 Thåström announced that he's working on a new solo album and that he is going to share two shows with the Swedish band Kent, play at the Peace & Love-festival in Borlänge and also play at the Beatday-festival in Copenhagen in the beginning of August. On 13 March 2009 he released a new album called Kärlek är för dom (Love is for them [or those]).

On 15 February 2012 ' Beväpna dig med vingar' (Arm yourself with wings) was released. A large portion of the proceeds from the merchandise sold of the following tour was donated to the cause of the homeless people in Sweden.

On the web:

- Thastrom's website: http://www.thastrom.se/

What do we think:

DB: Those who think that sweden can only produce clean cut pop should turn their ear to the raw universe of Thåström. Joakim is a dark figure that growls and grunts his vision on a world that has many wrongs in it. Not that he choses the pessimistic depressive way to make us aware. His music breathes power, energy and anarchy. He incorporates elements of dark bluesrock which he graces with a sandpaper voice that howls over the music. No matter if the music is heavy electronic, bluesrock, punk or vaudeville. An intriguing, pure, spirited and raw exponent of the European rock scene who tells us stories of the fringes of society with his impressive oeuvre.

If you like this, you probably like.. / european counterparts:

Thiefaine (France)

Kult (Poland)


♪♪♪ - Thåström (1989)

♪♪♪ - Xplodera mig 2000 (1991)

- Singoalla (1998)

♪♪♪♪ - Det är ni som e dom konstiga, det är jag som e normal (1999)

- Mannen som blev en gris (2002)

- Skebokvarnsv. 209 (2005)

- Solo Vol 1 (2006)

- Sällskapet (as Sällskapet) (2007)

♪♪♪♪ - Kärlek är for dom (2009)

- Be-bop-a-lula hela jävla dan (2009)

♪♪♪ - Beväpna dig med vingar (2012)

♪♪♪ - Nowy Port (as Sällskapet) (2013)

♪♪♪♪ - Den morronen (2015)

Further listening:

Ebba Grön: We're Only In It For The Drugs (1979) / Kärlek & Uppror (1981) / Ebba Grön (1982)

Rymdimperiet: Alltid Attack (1981) / Vad Pojkar Vill Ha (1981) / Felrättsnettheltfelrättsnett (1982)

Imperiet: Rasera (1983)/ Blå himlen blues (1985) / 2:a Augusti`85 (1985) / Synd (1986) / Imperiet (1988) / Tiggarens tal (1988)/ Live/Studio (1988)/ Kickar (1990)

Peace, Love and Pitbulls: Peace, Love and Pitbulls (1992) / Red sonic underwear (1994) 3 (1997) / War in my livingroom 92–97 (2007)

♪♪♪♪♪ = outstanding album, an absolute must-have
♪♪♪♪ = great album, highly recomended
♪♪♪ = nice album
♪♪ = be careful, requires listening before buying
♪ = best to be avoided


Your newsletter

Do you want to receive our monthly newsletter? Just tick in your e-mail adress below and stay in touch.

You will receive an e-mail message (sorry, in Dutch) that you have to confirm.